Become a Member

History brought to your door with a 20% discount on publications and your name in new publications.

The objectives of the Stranraer and District Local History Trust are to research, record and publish information on local history for the benefit of the community. With that aim in mind, the Trust has published numerous books which can be found on the Publications page of this site.

As might be imagined, publishing even ‘small’ books is an expensive business and the Trust would like to thank various individuals and organisations for financial help and support with the publication of earlier books. A list of current members can be found at the foot of this page.

For those who would like to support the Trust, annual membership is available for £4.00 and entitles members to a discount of 20% on publications. To become a member or renew membership of Stranraer and District Local History Trust please ‘Add to Cart’ below (If you would like to pay by cheque please contact our Treasurer). You may add a membership to your cart and then proceed to order publications as a member on the Publications page.

Annual Membership of Stranraer and District Local History Trust £4.00

Current Committee Members

Mrs Elaine Barton – Chairman
Prof Alastair McGowan – Vice-Chairman
Mrs J C MacDonald – Hon. Secretary
Mr Tom Stevenson – Hon. Treasurer
Mrs Christine Wilson – Committee Member
Mr Eric Wilson – Committee Member
Mr Peter Armitage – Committee Member
Donald McHarrie – Committee Member
Andrea Simpson – Committee Member
Marion McGowan – Committee Member


Enjoy a 20% discount on all publications when you become a member